Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If I was a superhero this might be a fun thing to be. Instead, I am one of millions of people suffering from an Invisible Chronic Illness. My illness happens to be MCS or multiple chemical sensitivities. When people who haven’t seen me in a while look at me — for a moment they get excited, “YOU LOOK GREAT!”

They think and hope that I will be able to resume a life that used to allow me to teach – go to the movies – walk by neighbors’ houses on laundry day. But I cannot. Other people cannot see my migraine, hives on my scalp, extreme fatigue, body aches and a much larger list of symptoms. Many people do not want to stop using scented products. The toxins in synthetic fragrances caused my disability and so I must become an invisible part of their lives or become sicker from further exposures.

September 9 – 15, 2013 is Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness Week. This week of awareness was started by a fellow blogger Lisa Copen in 2002. I will be blogging about my experiences that week.

BUT before then I would like you to help me with a post.

If you have an Invisible Illness or a Chronic Illness send me a list of as many things as you can think of that people have done for you to make you feel seen  and whole again. I believe sometimes people don’t know how to help so they do nothing at all. Love may not take away the disease or illness but it can take away the loneliness, despair, and powerlessness.

AND obviously if you’ve done something to help another that is suffering – share. You may give someone else an idea how to spread some love.

Remember there are no small Acts of Love because unconditional love only has the capacity for growth — it can never be diminished.

No names of people – just acts of kindness.

I get tired of always trying to educate by telling people the facts of my illness – trying to convince them to change for their own health.

Love is the only medicine strong enough to eradicate all suffering. Please help me spread some love.

You can give me the info via comments to this post or my email:

lifeinthecitywithafuture@outlook.com

When I post the Acts of Love I will link your list to your blog (if you have one) so let me know if you don’t want me to do this. I hope this will be the first post of the ICI Awareness week and I hope the list of loving acts is so long it will take the entire week to read.

NOTE: AFTER FIRST POSTING THIS, A BUDDY OF MINE COLORED OUTSIDE THE LINES AND WROTE AN ENTIRE BLOG PIECE, FOR ME TO POST ABOUT HIS ILLNESS. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO DO THIS ABOUT YOUR ILLNESS/DISEASE/HEALTH ISSUE FOR ICI WEEK, I WILL REBLOG IT, JUST LET ME KNOW.

IT TOOK ME TWENTY YEARS BEFORE I SPOKE OF MY ILLNESS. I KNOW PEOPLE THAT HAVE MCS AND ARE NOT ADVOCATING FOR THEMSELVES. I STARTED THE BLOG AND SPEAK OUT SO NO ONE ELSE HAS TO BECOME SICK. THIS IS A CHANCE TO CHANGE SOMEONE ELSE’S LIFE BY SHARING YOUR EXPERIENCES, NO MATTER WHAT HEALTH ISSUE YOU ARE CHALLENGED WITH.

Love,

Colleen

